Month: October 2012

  • Pride

    You can't really trust someone
    Full of Pride
    I really wish you could
    Something about absolute power corrupts
    Or something
    It is hard to tell
    All I know is that
    Someone full of pride
    Has their self at the forefront
    of everything they do
    And that self will take the brunt of any blow
    Thus in order to continue existence
    Something needs forfeited
    Yeah yeah
    Pride goeth before the fall
    And you have to push pretty hard
    To get them to the cliff
    You really can't trust someone full of pride

  • Wheat

    I still need to sow my wild oats
    because
    I spent all my younger years

    sowing wild oats

  • Everyone needs a hobby (For Hemmingway)

    She was genetically engineered
    To live longer

    And nothing else

  • Consumed

    She plopped down next to me
    Blocking me in for the duration
    Of the train ride

    This large, evil force
    Unbeknownst to herself
    The seat will smell of her for days

    Try to brush it off the sweatshirt
    Smell the book
    Look out the window

    She keeps reaching for her change
    Making sure she has enough money
    'Hammond'
    She says
    That's twenty minutes
    But it feels of hours

    A cigarette falls out on one
    of the attempts to check the change
    Making sure she has enough money
    To get to that recliner
    Or soup kitchen

    She breathes outward and inward
    As she catches her breath
    Audibly sighing as if the lungs are unfamiliar
    With physical exertion
    This evil woman taking up two seats
    In the two seat aisle
    She falls asleep
    The sweat excretes

    She wakes up
    Politely apologizes
    And heads home
    The seat will smell of her for days
    I have to move away

    Consuming smells
    That take my thoughts
    I am not an upstanding citizen, Miss
    No one apologizes here

  • Cumulative

    Cumulative effects of stress
    I think about where it goes
    Where I will be sitting
    In what doctor's chair
    Haven't got many colds
    My hair hasn't fell out
    Heart is still beating
    Maybe it will be some form of cancer
    As retribution for putting the body
    Through the limits
    There has got to be some kind of karma
    Some kind of lead weight
    I can't come out disease free
    The body it eventually breaks

  • Vessels

    Peeking into houses
    Trapped in 1950
    Intricate lacing
    Soft light and marble lamps
    Their homes time capsules
    Vessels in time
    Waiting for their owner's death

  • Accommodation

    Mother Nature must be teasing me
    When I want you cold
    You are hot
    When I want you warm
    You are freezing
    When I want to see some rain
    The ground parses for moisture
    When you are just right
    I don't notice
     

  • Stoicism is really only talked about
    When an outside force is too much
    It was popularized and some say formulated
    By a guy who was at the time
    The leader of half the world's population
    I wake up and it is October
    I get lonesome