August 8, 2012

  • Caveman Nastalgia

    I daydream a lot about being a Neanderthal
    Being the first to recognize my own mortality
    By burying my own
    Where you must kill your own food
    And take shelter from the storm
    To skin the dead for cover of
    This skin of mine
    Pale and pink from sun and wind
    If we recognized our deaths
    We must've recognized our vessels
    The scars and the hair and why it grows where it does
    About how it has made it to the 21st Century
    (As if it did, it is said it has not
    Homo sapiens wears the crown)
    Where it is bathed in soaps and fragrances
    To different stresses of rapid information
    Carpal tunnel
    Carpe Diem
    We keep inching towards Occam's Razor
    And with this minimum effort we become lazy with comfort
    Of course unless you go to where things have yet to develop in this method
    Where the price of clean water must equal Clear Channel
    I peek at them and they peek back
    My motor skills and visual perception operate roughly the same
    My reptilian stem feels the emotions coming from a smile
    My cortex understands the perceived danger of trusting too many smiles
    The language comes back muffled
    But it is language
    My body sighs and sifts back in time
    To the recognition of burying my own kind

    22. Write a PROSE POEM about your naked body ( 5pts)

Comments (12)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *