Month: August 2012

  • Osmosis

    I forgot to write this very thing
    And upon writing it
    Fourth dimensions open
    And what I say could ring

    ...true

    It's all leftovers anyways
    From my wrinkled member
    the brain the brain
    I press my head to this device

    ...osmosis

    The brain dry heaves
    Write it all down
    There are gaps

    42.Write an ELEGY for a past moment ( 4 pts)

  • Snapped

    It was easier to live a life of boredom than dealing
    With the crushing blow that it could all go away with a snap.

    It was a corpse.

    There was nothing surprising in that. Yet they found it and buried it with a direct and noble somberness. Those that bury wait for 'snap' that never came, they just got to watch and it made them old, not just elderly, but old. Those snaps that play in soundtracks that slowly beat in the back of one's mind, until they become too much and you have to disconnect in a way or another.

    This lead weight, he sits, these arms that flail around as they moved him. They couldn't figure out the cause of death, most just assumed it was old age. No autopsy was performed, the county was trying to cut back on expenses and there weren't enough trained coroners in all of Florida to keep up. They had a cermony for Earnest P. Merriweather, but no one showed up.

     

    40. Write a STORY about elderly people coming upon something curious. ( 5 pts)

  • Sonata

    He had to be let go, he was torturing the whole place, threatening to sue with every turn. Every day was a flinch and every action was weary. His kind drank beer on Saturdays at the local joint, the ones remaining that is, and rooted for Notre Dame. He was earnest, stubborn and unveiled a wiry humor under his scraggly beard while a beaten grin would form on his face. 

    I knew him while I was an assistant and then as his boss giving him false confidence in my clemency. That I somehow would be able to resist the environmental factors and pressures that were bestowed upon me. Where the guy you once knew goes away. That I was an idealist in the end and not a pragmatist, as all business owners end up the latter in the end. 

    He had to be let go, he was torturing the whole place, threatening to sue with every turn. Even after he left the threat was still vaguely there. Would he go quietly? He seemed to. He was earnest, stubborn and there was humor once.

    Then he came back.

    Wanting papers signed so he could retire. He told me to look elsewhere because who I was wasn't here. That wasn't me, that I had changed from who I once was. That I was an idealist in the end, not a pragmatist, everyone knows that. I go back to my desk and listen to a sonata as it repeats and builds. And then it ends. But it takes a while. And it makes you think of other times, when the turf was virgin. It smacks of regret but it only smacks lightly, with the luxury of when pure idealism and romance abound and I cannot move or think. He had to go but he hit while going down. He didn't even know it, he just mistook my clemency.

    45. Write a FLASH FICTION entitled "Sonata" ( 4 pts)

  • Species

    What is so damn interesting about continuing the species anyways?

    Everything leaves a husk
    Everything leaves a husk

    This is it

    41. Write SOMETHING using the line " Everything leaves a husk." ( 4 pts)

  • Nest

    The nests of bagworms can be out of anything really, maple leaves, juniper needles, arborvitae leaves, paper bags, parts of small animals...well not really but that is what character A thought. She was a tom boy and delighted in the crackling and popping of the bagworms as they writhed in their new nest of gravel and fire. Insert plot point.

    And that is why you never use gasoline and how character A gained a scar. These nests seem benign and distant and we put them back when they have fallen. We try to keep the Robin's egg in there, but sometimes it falls out and cracks. End story here.

    36. Write a STORY entitled " Nest" ( 5 pts)

  • Sexual Feeling

    I was shaking
    She was shaking
    There was moving back
    There was moving forth
    Pillow
    Purple
    Am I killing her
    No
    Everything is fine
    This has to happen
    Sooner
    Later
    Is this the right thing
    Nothing is happening
    We eat food
    Romantic looks are expressed

    18. Write a POEM about your first sexual experience. ( 6 ps)

  • Generations

       

    20. Create a PHOTOGRAPH in which 'generations' is the theme. ( 4 pts)

  • Afterimage

    You left the door open
    And I went to the other room
    I keep expecting it to close

    The ball drops towards the ground
    And I look to the sky
    I keep expecting it to bounce

    I pick up the socks
    Siting for two days
    And life passed me by

    1. Write a POEM in which socks and death are mentioned ( 3 pts)

  • Caveman Nastalgia

    I daydream a lot about being a Neanderthal
    Being the first to recognize my own mortality
    By burying my own
    Where you must kill your own food
    And take shelter from the storm
    To skin the dead for cover of
    This skin of mine
    Pale and pink from sun and wind
    If we recognized our deaths
    We must've recognized our vessels
    The scars and the hair and why it grows where it does
    About how it has made it to the 21st Century
    (As if it did, it is said it has not
    Homo sapiens wears the crown)
    Where it is bathed in soaps and fragrances
    To different stresses of rapid information
    Carpal tunnel
    Carpe Diem
    We keep inching towards Occam's Razor
    And with this minimum effort we become lazy with comfort
    Of course unless you go to where things have yet to develop in this method
    Where the price of clean water must equal Clear Channel
    I peek at them and they peek back
    My motor skills and visual perception operate roughly the same
    My reptilian stem feels the emotions coming from a smile
    My cortex understands the perceived danger of trusting too many smiles
    The language comes back muffled
    But it is language
    My body sighs and sifts back in time
    To the recognition of burying my own kind

    22. Write a PROSE POEM about your naked body ( 5pts)

  • Blur

    My approach to life is wholly unfocused as if I forgot to put on glasses in the morning And instead saw life unfiltered and ate it in blurs Unable to stop for ever important details all the while only paying attention to what grabs my attention Never prescribed the corrective medication for a disorder without a name Stumble through the dark like the kid on Thumbsucker

    Sure I can focus at times for the sunsets and sunrises and other lovely things

    Before I meditate on these things and the years fly by Attached to a cause for no particular reason then to have a cause Because I would float into the nether reaches of the hemisphere Lost Except to rules set by myself To not lose sight of the ground I like to float however and eat the blurs Taking it all in before having to do something with it like transcribing it all or having to sustain life or the lives of others The beating of the hot iron the pulse that lulls me to sleep